True School

True School Team

True School Team

Congratulations HTRS Elementary!
Introducing the True School Team:
B.J. Freeman Kindergarten
Brittney Gauthier 1st Grade
Deserae Frey 1st Grade
Jaime Frey 3rd Grade
Kari Lottman Assistant Principal
Lisa Othmer Principal

TrueSchool Selects 15 Schools for Education Innovation Fellowship in Nebraska (October 3, 2018)
TrueSchool is proud to announce the selection of 15 schools in Nebraska to participate in its 2018-2019 TrueSchool Innovation Fellowship. The project, fully funded by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, is an intensive, collaborative effort aimed at improving literacy among students, pre-kindergarten to 3rd grade.
Dr. John Skretta, Superintendent of Norris School District and President of the Nebraska Association of School Administrators, one of the chosen participants, states that “True School is known as a highly innovative organization that encourages the right things. Whether change is incremental or transformational, we know that the opportunity to leverage a True School fellowship will put us in connection with an amazing community of educators who are committed to serving students”.

The TrueSchool Innovation Fellowship provides a $15,000 scholarship per school to cover the full cost of year-long programmatic and coaching support. Only two states, North Carolina and Nebraska were selected. 
Selected schools will each create teams made up of 3 to 6 members, including the principal and at least 2 teacher leaders. These teams, with the assistance of TrueSchool’s specialized program and experienced coaches, will “lead a school-wide innovation effort with a focus on equity, academic achievement, social-emotional support, and 21st century learning” said TrueSchool CEO Amy Vreeland. “Educators working on the ground know their school, student, and community needs best. We provide the time, process, and support to enable their leadership potential to flourish and their bold ideas to come to life.”

The chosen participants in Nebraska represent a mixture of suburban, urban and rural school districts from across the state. Of the 5,318 students attending these academic institutions, 1,666 are minority students, while 4,036 are white. A majority of students of the chosen schools receive free or reduced lunch.
The selected schools, all elementary schools, include: Betz, Twin Ridge, and Twin Springs in Bellevue School District; A.B. Newell, Engleman, Gates, and Knickrehm in Grand Island Public School District; Humboldt Table Rock Steinauer Elementary in Humboldt; Ezra Millard, Rockwell, Wheeler, and Willowdale in Millard Public Schools; Mullen Elementary in Mullen Public Schools; Norris Elementary in Norris School District; and Chapman Elementary in Northwest Public Schools.
TrueSchool, based in New Orleans, has worked with over 1,500 educators in 108 schools who are effecting change for more than 200,000 students in cities across the United States, including Chicago, Los Angeles, New Orleans, and Oakland.
The W.K. Kellogg Foundation, founded in 1930, is one of the world’s largest private foundations. It works with communities around the world to improve conditions for vulnerable children.